Set in beautiful gardens in the centre of historic York, the Merchant Adventurers’ Hall is open as a public museum, wedding and hospitality venue some 650 years after construction began in 1357.
There are three main rooms in the Hall: the Great Hall where the Medieval merchants first gathered to conduct business and to socialise. The Undercroft which was used as an alms house to help the sick and the poor and the Chapel offering spiritual care.
The Hall is home to many remarkable collections including silver, furniture and paintings, which provide a glimpse into the rich history of the Hall and the people associated with it. The hall is open every day during the summer months and is accessible to all from the Fossgate entrance.